What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

batteries in parallel

Paul 5r4

Well Known Member
I have a need for some weight forward of the CG and have decided I might as well add something useful. My current battery is an Apex and has and still is performing great but it's 5 years old. I am thinking of getting two new ones and hooking them in parallel. Is this ok and safe?

Please no suggestions of constant speed prop etc.
Thanks for your input.

I run a pair of PC680s in parallel on the firewall, no issues. I use the second one on the other half of the master switch, start the plane on both, switch it back off and use it as an avionics backup battery.

Other half of the master switch??? Can you explain. I have a cessna style master. Left is alt and right is battery. Can't switch off battery here and leave alt on.

I did find another thread where someone suggested putting in a second master solenoid so you could use one or the other. He said running them in parallel, it would be hard to know which one might be causing a problem if you can't take it offline. I liked that idea but having trouble figuring out how to wire something like this.