What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

AeroSun VXi wing tip kit and AeroLED LN210 tail light tail light

bertschb

Well Known Member
Friend
I recently ordered the empennage kit for my RV-14A. I included the AeroLED LN210 tail strobe/position light in my order. I have since learned about the new AeroLED AeroSun VXi wing tip light kit from Vans. While researching that kit here on VAF (and later confirmed by Vans) I learned the tail position light isn't required if you get the new AeroSun VXi wing tip kit.

I don't plan on doing much night flying but it will happen. As a new builder, I want to build my first airplane correctly and not exclude anything I may need. But, if I can eliminate wires to the tail that aren't needed, that's a plus.

I'm thinking of getting the carbon fiber version of the VXi kit as I plan to place the magnetometer in the fuselage somewhere rather than the wing tips so the interference I've read about with the magnetometer and carbon fiber version of the VXi tips shouldn't be an issue.

Would you eliminate the tail light if you got the AeroSun VXi wing tip kit????

Maybe

I'm waiting to see the actual VXi units. I talked to Ryan at AeroLEDs and he said they are expecting a first production run of tips from Vans so they can start assembling production units soon.

I believe you will satisfy the regs related to the rear facing position light with the tips alone. Hoping to see them in person at OSH this year and make a decision on which way to go. If I do the tips, I'll probably eliminate the tail light also.

Some builders like the look of having 3 synchronized rear facing white lights. Removing the bump on the lower rudder fairing is probably as much if not more work than installing the light.

Removing the bump on the lower rudder fairing is probably as much if not more work than installing the light.