What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Anyone having a hard time keeping a Dynon amp shunt from coming apart?

jcarne

Well Known Member
Patron
On my second one and it is broke now too. The plastic seems to always break. First one I chocked up to me getting the screws too tight; I know I didn't make that same mistake on the second one.

Attachments

• 20200726_154500.jpg
    20200726_154500.jpg
    570.7 KB · Views: 139
I haven’t had any issues on the two or three I have installed. Looks like a bolt tightening issue, but I’m no expert.

Only One

On my second one and it is broke now too. The plastic seems to always break. First one I chocked up to me getting the screws too tight; I know I didn't make that same mistake on the second one.

8 years and almost 900 hours - my original one has been just fine.

I had the same problem with the plastic holes cracking. I potted the underside with epoxy and milled glass so the the housing can withstand higher compression load from the screw

I'm on my third after 250 hours, but mine both broke vertically through the middle.

Gary R Kohler
RV-7A

Better Options

For various reasons a Hall current sensor is better https://www.poweruc.pl/products/hal...=1&_sid=834f34193&_ss=r&variant=1961591996460

Clamp on, no bare terminals, eliminates two crimp connections, no issue having to fuse the sense wires, etc. etc.

Now if Dynon would just support it...
I still have (similar) one in the plane from my RMI install. No longer have the RMI, so it just sits there with nothing to do.

OK, one caution - keep it away from *other* current carrying wires to get an accurate number.

For various reasons a Hall current sensor is better https://www.poweruc.pl/products/hal...=1&_sid=834f34193&_ss=r&variant=1961591996460

Clamp on, no bare terminals, eliminates two crimp connections, no issue having to fuse the sense wires, etc. etc.

Now if Dynon would just support it...