What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Basic Med

Nope. "State Licensed Physician" = no PA's or NP's. Only MDs or DOs

Last edited:
That's also my understanding

This is a potential "gotcha" of BasicMed -- people analogize the exam (appropriately enough) to the requirements for getting a commercial driver's license, but in the case of BasicMed a PA is NOT allowed to do the exam/signoff.

No, only licensed physicians MD or DO

This is a potential "gotcha" of BasicMed -- people analogize the exam (appropriately enough) to the requirements for getting a commercial driver's license, but in the case of BasicMed a PA is NOT allowed to do the exam/signoff.

As a physician myself, I see no reason a PA or NP couldn't do these exams. IF the FAA is nervous about it, have them do 2-4 hours of CE to get up to speed on what the FAA wants. Most AME use these folks anyway and sign off on their work.

A Doctor Doesn't Have to Perform Any/All of the Exam...

From FAA/AOPA..."All state-licensed physicians are qualified to perform a BasicMed exam. Advanced practice providers, such as a CRNP (nurse practitioners) or Physician Assistant (PA), may assist with the exam but only a state-licensed physician may make the final signature affirmation on the checklist."

Even if he doesn't do any of the "hands on" part of the exam, the doctor's signature and license number are required. Liability/responsibility is usually assigned to the biggest target.

Terry, CFI
RV9A N323TP

As a physician myself, I see no reason a PA or NP couldn't do these exams. IF the FAA is nervous about it, have them do 2-4 hours of CE to get up to speed on what the FAA wants. Most AME use these folks anyway and sign off on their work.