What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Microballoon max thickness

agent4573

Well Known Member
Starting the fiberglass and it's my first time doing any epoxy stuff. The rudder and vertical stab fairings are off about 1/8". At this location, would it be safe to add 1/8-3/16" of micro and then sand to final shape? Would you suggest shaping the micro and then adding a layer of glass over top of it?

Attachments

• PXL_20201013_211731615.jpg
    PXL_20201013_211731615.jpg
    191.7 KB · Views: 417
Experiment with your mix, you want it thick enough that it generally keeps it's form, still liquid enough that it can be worked, but not so liquid that it doesn't shift & run like syrup. Mix little amounts and apply in layers, sand off the high spots, than add another layer till you achieve it's final shape.
Non structural so you don't need to top it with a layer of cloth, which would only complicate the process.
Generally the less resin in the mix, the easier it is to sand.

Flox

Personally, I would saturate a piece of glass then mix some flox. Sand and clean. Apply the flox then the glass then peel ply. Shape with a credit card till the flox underneath is a nice even layer. The part will sand evenly after it sets because the flox is encapsulated and less likely to crack. After that the filler layer should be much thinner if needed at all.

I found that the front piece (on top of the VS) was too wide - much thicker than the part on top of the rudder. I cut a small wedge out of the top of it with a dremel and squeezed it thinner - this raised the top a bit and I could then put it back together with some cloth and flox on the inside, and finished it with micro on the outside and shaped it to match the rudder fairing.

https://tasrv14.blogspot.com/2020/02/12-05-elevator-rudder-vs-and-hs-tip.html?m=1