What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Mogas in O 320 lycoming.

Python

Hi, I’m looking at running mogas in my O 320 D2A engine, i stumbled sometime ago on some information about certain year models having hardened valve seats that could cope with mogas. I have been looking but can’t find any references to this can anyone point me in the right direction ?Regards 🐍

I ran an O-320 E3D on mogas for 1000 hours. The only issue was occasional vapor lock on a quick turn. I am no engine expert but I don’t think lead has anything to do with hardened valve seats. It mostly screws up valve stems and guides, and fouls plugs.

I am planning to start running non ethanol mogas in my O-540 8.5/1.

Hi, I’m looking at running mogas in my O 320 D2A engine, i stumbled sometime ago on some information about certain year models having hardened valve seats that could cope with mogas. I have been looking but can’t find any references to this can anyone point me in the right direction ?Regards 🐍

Look for the letter "C" stamped on the cyliders just above the intake manifold. That indicates that the cylinder has the newest valve guide and valve seat material.

I ran an O-320 E3D on mogas for 1000 hours. I am no engine expert but I don’t think lead has anything to do with hardened valve seats. It mostly screws up valve stems and guides, and fouls plugs.

I am planning to start running non ethanol mogas in my O-540 8.5/1.

Why do you think Unleaded fuel screws up valve stems and fouls plugs? As far as I know it does the opposite. It's a much cleaner fuel than 100LL, the lead is what fouls plugs and coats the stem of the valves and clogs the guides. Vapour pressure is indeed an issue at hot ambients though and must be considered.