What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Request review of electrical system diagram

dmn056

Well Known Member
Friend
This is a first cut at the main power system diagram for my RV-8, with dual alternators, dual batteries aft-mounted, SDS electronic fuel injection and electronic ignition. It's drawn more or less in accordance with Australian standards, so please forgive any differences from USA usage.

I'm not an electrical expert, but I've spent a fair bit of time going over AeroElectric Connection, lots of other people's wiring diagrams, and of course DanH's recent works.

Please review what I'm planning and let me know what problems you see or how I could do it better.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• ES001 Batteries Alternators Starter.pdf
    25.8 KB · Views: 263
I don’t see the benefit of powering the EFI/EI by the batteries-only (if I’m interpreting this correctly). Why not power EFI/EI from the main bus? The main bus is supplied by 4 sources (2 alts and 2 batts).

This is minor, I think there is normally a diode on the starter contactor, like there is on the main contactor(s).

A quick look, first thought. Don’t know if you’ve procured components yet.

B&C products have a well earned good reputation.

Consider the Monkworkz for your back-up (or dual depending on your intent). Well designed, well packaged. Well applied “automation” and removes the need for excitation. I’m really enjoying learning this product and get smarter every time I correspond with the designer/company owner.

Some will point to price delta but it’s an~ wash when everything is considered. Better if you value your time IMO.

Just a thought. Lots of good ways to achieve your intent.

I don’t see the benefit of powering the EFI/EI by the batteries-only
In case of smoke in the cockpit, the pilot will shut off the master switches and the engine will quit if powered via the master contactor.