VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12/RV-12iS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-20-2020, 05:44 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 6,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotBrent View Post
Very similar to my experience. When I went into the avionics shop after having flown for 2 years, the tech was not pleased that the equipment had not ever been tested. Clearly confusion that affected many of us.

BTW the first avionics inspection ran the equipment all the way up to the high altitudes (forget exactly but the routine ran towards 20K feet) testing my static system. Needed to access the AHARS in the tail for the test equipment which is a PITA. Thought that was overkill to run it all the way to nosebleed altitudes for an RV-12, but that is what they do and charged at least a couple of hundred dollars for it. For my subsequent 2 yr inspections its a quick on the ramp procedure and ~$100.
For a first time check or anytime the altimeter or encoder is replaced a "Data Correspondence" check is required. That purpose of that check was to confirm that the encoder (separate) and altimeter matched within 125'.

With an AHRS which uses digital output, and acts as both the altimeter and encoder, that test is no longer required (per advisory circular).

So the shop was trying to do the right thing but not quite up to speed in the new world of glass panels.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 2000+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags, MTV-9 prop
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-20-2020, 07:51 AM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sidney, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
The point being you can set your ship's altimeter to 29.92 and cross-check the transponder's pressure altitude reading. They should match.
Provided your altimeter is also calibrated on an annual basis, that is.
__________________
Rob Prior
1996 RV-6 "Tweety" C-FRBP (formerly N196RV)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-29-2022, 05:46 PM
NinerBikes NinerBikes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Granada Hills
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKAV8r View Post
The avionics shop is wrong. The two year recertification was discussed during rulemaking, and the fact that your ADS-B out is monitored for performance by the FAA system was seen as an adequate substitute for a periodic recertification. The transponder rule didn't change though, so we still need to make that trip to the avionics shop for the transponder SYSTEM check. So, if you disturb your transponder system in any way, i.e. change coax, change antenna, then a new transponder cert is required.....

And, if your transponder isn't certified on airworthiness day, it is an operational issue, not airworthiness, so, it would not need a ferry permit, but it would need an operational deviation approval from ATC, if needed to fly to the avionic shop.
Is this still valid?

My friend's FAA PAPR has been clean as a hound's tooth for 4+ years now. Nothings been changed or tampered with on the 261 Xponder Dynon provides.
__________________
VAF dues paid 2022
RV-12, KWHP based

"Time to Spare, go by Air."
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-29-2022, 05:56 PM
NinerBikes NinerBikes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Granada Hills
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
For a first time check or anytime the altimeter or encoder is replaced a "Data Correspondence" check is required. That purpose of that check was to confirm that the encoder (separate) and altimeter matched within 125'.

With an ADHRS which uses digital output, and acts as both the altimeter and encoder, that test is no longer required (per advisory circular).

So the shop was trying to do the right thing but not quite up to speed in the new world of glass panels.
Bold portion noted, Thank You.

Do you know the Advisory circular # the FAA provided stating this test is no longer required?
__________________
VAF dues paid 2022
RV-12, KWHP based

"Time to Spare, go by Air."

Last edited by NinerBikes : 06-29-2022 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-03-2022, 03:27 PM
NinerBikes NinerBikes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Granada Hills
Posts: 1,286
Default

My friend paid $175 to get his transponder Altitude 2 year certification for the soon to be new owner ( a commerical pilot) and now his altitude has no reading on Flight Aware after being certified. His plane now fails the FAA PAPR report 100% for B alt and G alt readings ( red blocks)

In going into the Skyview menu under Setup>serial port 3>Xpnder 261> standard "1200" is used, both gnd and air and is the correct setting. However at the top of the screen in the Transponder box on the top row, the box is lit in Yellow and is locked in "Standby" mode, not Green "1200" with a little red "RE" circle next to it.

Any suggestions on how to take the transponder out of "Standby" mode, since it seems the guy that certified the altitude from the transponder didn't go back and leave the settings the way he found them.

Before certification: https://flightaware.com/live/flight/.../KWHP/tracklog
After certification: https://flightaware.com/live/flight/.../KWHP/tracklog
__________________
VAF dues paid 2022
RV-12, KWHP based

"Time to Spare, go by Air."

Last edited by NinerBikes : 07-03-2022 at 03:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-03-2022, 04:00 PM
RV8JD RV8JD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinerBikes View Post
My friend paid $175 to get his transponder Altitude 2 year certification for the soon to be new owner ( a commerical pilot) and now his altitude has no reading on Flight Aware after being certified. His plane now fails the FAA PAPR report 100% for B alt and G alt readings ( red blocks)

In going into the Skyview menu under Setup>serial port 3>Xpnder 261> standard "1200" is used, both gnd and air and is the correct setting. However at the top of the screen in the Transponder box on the top row, the box is lit in Yellow and is locked in "Standby" mode, not Green "1200" with a little red "RE" circle next to it.

Any suggestions on how to take the transponder out of "Standby" mode, since it seems the guy that certified the altitude from the transponder didn't go back and leave the settings the way he found them.

Before certification: https://flightaware.com/live/flight/.../KWHP/tracklog
After certification: https://flightaware.com/live/flight/.../KWHP/tracklog
Two comments:

First, be sure that the Transponder set up menu has been set back to "Auto": SETUP MENU > TRANSPONDER SETUP > AUTO ALT/GND > AUTOMATIC (AIR DATA)

See page 11-42, "Performing Transponder Checks", of the SkyView System Installation Guide.

Example:

Second, the "Standby" mode (SBY) is active when none of the other modes are active (It does not have its own key to select it). Have him try to select "AUTO" (or "ALT") in the main Transponder menu.

See page 6-2, "Transponder Operation", of the SkyView Classic/Touch Pilot's Guide for details.

Example:
My guess is that the second suggestion will get the transponder out of "Standby" mode.
__________________
Carl N.
RV-8
KAWO

Last edited by RV8JD : 07-03-2022 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-05-2022, 12:18 PM
NinerBikes NinerBikes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Granada Hills
Posts: 1,286
Default

Thanks, it was the 2nd step that fixed it. Go to "Xpnder" button then press "ALT" button so that it highlights. "1200 R" is now displayed on top bar of main screen.
__________________
VAF dues paid 2022
RV-12, KWHP based

"Time to Spare, go by Air."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.