What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oil psi and oil temp

billytime1

Well Known Member
Long long ago in a galaxy far far away i worked in a shop fabricating race cars for a local track here in so cal.. there was a old dude who built the engines for the cars that were to be raced.. one day he and I were talking and he said to me that most of the heat in the oil comes from the oil pump via heat of compression and the basic rule for pressure was 10 psi per every 1000 rpm..
Has anyone heard of similar values and theory for aviation engines, if there is merit to them then most aviation ( lycoming engines for this matter) need not more that 30-35 psi at 2700 rpm.. . Does less psi = less heat. And still have safe margin for operation

Heat of compression? That makes sense for a gas, but not a liquid. Plenty of heat coming from the combustion cycle though.

30 psi is considered on the low side for oil pressure, and there is an argument that significantly higher pressure in the 80-90 psi range is beneficial in lycomings to increase lubrication of the camshaft lobes

Long long ago in a galaxy far far away i worked in a shop fabricating race cars for a local track here in so cal.. there was a old dude who built the engines for the cars that were to be raced.. one day he and I were talking and he said to me that most of the heat in the oil comes from the oil pump via heat of compression and the basic rule for pressure was 10 psi per every 1000 rpm..
Has anyone heard of similar values and theory for aviation engines, if there is merit to them then most aviation ( lycoming engines for this matter) need not more that 30-35 psi at 2700 rpm.. . Does less psi = less heat. And still have safe margin for operation