What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

SkyView firmware 16.2.4

Pdtofly

Well Known Member
Patron
Dynon released their new SkyView firmware 16.2.4 a few days ago.

One good feature is if you have Seattle Avionics FlyQ Pro, you can now transfer your charts on your iPad via WiFi directly to the Dynon SkyView memory stick.

Brian

Needs and wants

I have a lifetime FlyQ subscription (VFR and IFR) so don't view this post as negative for Seattle Avionics. I also have an AFS 5600 EFIS. So here's my question: Yes, the "Slingshot" feature of the new Dynon release is nice, and AFS will have it sometime in the future, BUT, if you have all that data on your Ipad, why do you need the extra cost of the Dynon or AFS data subscription? Since you are transferring it from one device to another, you know it is exactly the same. But they charge you twice.

I let my data subscription for my AFS EFIS expire. I just can't figure out why I need it. Am I missing something?

I have a lifetime FlyQ subscription (VFR and IFR) so don't view this post as negative for Seattle Avionics. I also have an AFS 5600 EFIS. So here's my question: Yes, the "Slingshot" feature of the new Dynon release is nice, and AFS will have it sometime in the future, BUT, if you have all that data on your Ipad, why do you need the extra cost of the Dynon or AFS data subscription? Since you are transferring it from one device to another, you know it is exactly the same. But they charge you twice.

I let my data subscription for my AFS EFIS expire. I just can't figure out why I need it. Am I missing something?

I can think of a couple of good reasons to keep all the databases current, but probably the biggest would be this: