What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Intro/Seeking advice buying a used RV

b_raf

Hi all, I'm an armchair pilot who's been in the process of getting a PPL for the last 26 years. I was close to soloing again (3rd time) in a 160hp GCAA this year when the school shut down due to Covid. I have around 40 hours total, 7 of which are from this go around.
In my readings the RV series seems to be what I would be looking for in a plane; quick and aerobatic capable. I'm leaning towards the RV6/7 or 8 prebuilt as time is at a premium at the moment. Hope to find one with 180HP and a constant speed prop, IFR would be nice as I live in the PNW. I haven't flown in one but will likely contact the factory as soon as they offer demo flights again.
I'm wondering if I'm a fool for even considering purchasing a plane now/ should I just wait until I can resume flying again and focus on completing the PPL? If I do pick up a plane in the interim what are peoples thoughts on buying a plane with full IFR vs buying one with VFR panel and then upgrading when the time comes? If buy now and update later what would I realistically be looking at price wise to update the panel later?

Hi all, I'm an armchair pilot who's been in the process of getting a PPL for the last 26 years. I was close to soloing again (3rd time) in a 160hp GCAA this year when the school shut down due to Covid. I have around 40 hours total, 7 of which are from this go around.

Welcome! Seems you probably have some aviation talent, and can develop the necessary skills with a bit of dedication and instruction.