What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Why are PSRUs so hard to design?

Everwild

Well Known Member
I've been reading through a lot of alternative engine threads and it would appear that there are auto based engines that check most of the boxes for aircraft. The LS3 in particular seems to have legs. The weak link seems to be reliable PSRUs.

Why hasn't anyone been able to crack the code on reliably transferring 300hp to the prop without blowing up the PSRU gears or prop?

Seems there's a fair sized market with the RV-10s, scaled mustangs, and a number of certified craft that might benefit from a 280-325hp proven auto conversion that was made up of a package of custom and off the shelf parts, run on mo-gas etc?

I’m not an engineer, but I think a large issue is the fact that internal combustion engines are not really ‘smooth’. A high speed camera will show the prop accelerating a bit on the power stroke, with the blade tip lagging slightly behind. As the power ends, the tip ‘whips’ back into position and may even overshoot a bit. One reason props are so expensive. Gear trains have the same problem. The teeth are alternately being driven against each other harder, then slightly relaxed, then a hard push again. This can cause all sorts of fatigue issues. Cars tend to have large, heavy flywheels on the engine side of the gearbox, along with a torque converter which allows some slip prior to the gear box. And the tires have good traction with the road preventing any high frequency whipping on that side of the gearbox. I think turbines have fewer gearbox issues, because they are inherently ‘smooth’ (continuous, not pulsed).

Rotax has done a good job with theirs.

Is it that a proper engineering and resources to be allocated to it?