What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Elevator pushrod single bolt

ezetom

Hi Everyone,

Im new to the RV world (actually I have an F1 Rocket) and I came across something that sort of perplexes me - apparently this arrangement is the same on most RVs so hence my post here.

Does anyone know why there is only one bolt (the lone bolt that connects the elevator pushrod to both elevators) connecting the left and right elevators together?

With only having a trim tab on one elevator, I would expect some reasonably high "torsional" loads to be carried from one elevator to the other through this one bolt.

I was thinking about drilling another set of holes in the elevator horns, and connecting together with another an3 bolt with a proper sized spacer between - this would greatly increase the torsional rigidity between the left and right elevator.

Thoughts?

Cheers

Tom

Whenever I feel the need to modify or reengineer something, especially a potentially critical part like this, I ask myself how many planes are falling out of the sky because they didn’t do this or that..

If you bolted the elevators with the bolt specified, then clamped one elevator and then you pressed up and down on the other, do you really feel that the bolt is the weak link? You’ll destroy both elevators before you even scratch the cad plating off the bolt.. don’t overthink this, one bolt is fine,

Sleep well

While it's a triple shear application, a single AN3 has a single shear minimum of over a ton. How much force do you think that long elevator push/pull can exert in compression (push, elevator up) before buckling? What about the steel rod end that is threaded into aluminum that is attached with blind rivets and a little JB Weld?

As far as the single subject bolt is concerned, you're good.