What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Instrument Rating...

ccsmith51

Well Known Member
I am a PPL and have about 1,000 hours, all VFR in non-glass cockpits. I started flying in 1967 and stopped in 1982. I started again in 2004 when I decided to build a Sonex. I flew that for 150 hours and then bought an RV-4. I flew that for a couple hundred hours and sold it and bought an RV-6. I flew that for a couple hundred hours then sold it.

I'm 65 now, and being retired I have time on my hands. I thought about going back to school (I live about 10 miles from UCF, where I graduated in 1973 when it was still FTU!!), but then I thought maybe I should go for an instrument rating.

So, a few questions for y'all:

1) Am I too old to take on such an undertaking?
2) How much can I do on my own, and how much do I need ground school for?
3) I've seen concentrated courses offered, for high sums. Are they worth the money, and do they teach you how to fly IFR, or just how to pass the written and flight exam?
4) Any other things I should be thinking of or considering?

Thanks!!

I am a PPL and have about 1,000 hours, all VFR in non-glass cockpits. I started flying in 1967 and stopped in 1982. I started again in 2004 when I decided to build a Sonex. I flew that for 150 hours and then bought an RV-4. I flew that for a couple hundred hours and sold it and bought an RV-6. I flew that for a couple hundred hours then sold it.

I'm 65 now, and being retired I have time on my hands. I thought about going back to school (I live about 10 miles from UCF, where I graduated in 1973 when it was still FTU!!), but then I thought maybe I should go for an instrument rating.

3) I've seen concentrated courses offered, for high sums. Are they worth the money, and do they teach you how to fly IFR, or just how to pass the written and flight exam?

Thanks!!

No comment on #1, I don't think it is relevant.