What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Which Vetterman exhaust?

Desert Rat

Well Known Member
Hey guys- Clint at Vetterman indicated to me that the RV7 with IO390 can use either the crossover or the 4 pipe exhaust and the price is the same for either.

Would anybody care to comment on the pros/cons of each?

Thanks,

Terry

Hey guys- Clint at Vetterman indicated to me that the RV7 with IO390 can use either the crossover or the 4 pipe exhaust and the price is the same for either.

Thanks,

Terry

Years ago, it was reported that crossover exhausts on RVs will make the most power but 4 straight pipes will be the most efficient. Not sure I am a good enough pilot that I would be able to tell the difference on same airframe with the same engine. Boils down to what the person likes better.

Cabin heat

Years ago, it was reported that crossover exhausts on RVs will make the most power but 4 straight pipes will be the most efficient. Not sure I am a good enough pilot that I would be able to tell the difference on same airframe with the same engine. Boils down to what the person likes better.

I think you also need to consider the cabin heat muff. Maybe there is a difference there that would force a decision??

I have a never installed 4-pipe Vetterman if you’re interested. Came with my RV-8 project, but I’m not going to use it.

Not sure if the 390/RV-7 uses the same components, though.

Chris

What cowl are you planning on using? The cross-over comes really close to the sam james cowl, close enough that I had to send it back to vetterman for some tweaking. The 4 pipe is probably easier to make fit.

I have a 4 pipe on my 8. The bottom cowl pins are pain to get in & out. I’ll be changing them out for Camlocs someday. Otherwise the 4 pipes are fine. Lots of cabin heat with heat muff over 2 pipes.

Last edited:
Thanks for all the replies guys-