What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Which torque wrench?

Glen P

I?ve got this far with a 1/4 inch wrench that goes up to 80 in-lbs. I see the wheel nuts are 100 in-lbs. What do I need to finish the build?

Thanks

A good option for the price.

I recently picked up a Tekton from amazon and have been very impressed with the quality for the price.
10-150in*lb, a nice fine 72 tooth ratcheting head, a very crisp break/click (even at the lowest settings), and a very nice fit/finish throughout. Check the link below for the one I ordered. (Made in Taiwan, IMHO, home to some of the better import tools).

When I worked as an auto tech, I had several of the Snap On digital torque wrenches (higher torque than used on aircraft components). Fancy beepers and buzzers were great while working on boxer engines squeezed between chassis rails, (where there's little room for wrench clearance and you hear/feel about 10 "clicks" and clanks just getting the thing on the bolt.) That being said, the nice compact click types are my preferred choice on the RVs. You can spend a lot more, you could even spend less. I like this one.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M12284X/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Check the required torque on the prop bolts...you may need one that goes to 250 in-lbs, as well.

torqe Wrench

I got an electronic unit from HFreight that is like an extension, I/4, 3/8,1/2 inch adaptors included for about $30. It makes your ratchet a torque wrench. Lasted three years so far.

I got an electronic unit from HFreight that is like an extension, I/4, 3/8,1/2 inch adaptors included for about $30. It makes your ratchet a torque wrench. Lasted three years so far.

I would be interested in knowing how accurate that thing is. have you compared it or calibrated it to a known good torque wrench?