VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > Glass Cockpit
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2022, 10:12 PM
BoyRacer BoyRacer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Default Garmin G3X Fuel Tank Change reminder/alert

Hi Folks,

In firmware revision 8.92 Garmin G3X Touch introduced a great feature to set an alert based on fuel consumption (requires a fuel flow transducer) to give an on screen reminder/alert to Change the selected fuel tank. Prior to this we could set a timer based reminder. Have found the fuel consumption based alert (I use 5.0 Litres) to be VERY handy, my fuel gauges tend to read full for quite some period so a consumption based changeover is much better at keeping the fuel levels between tanks in balance.

I notice the Garmin G3X Pilots Guide (Revision S) and Installers manual (Revision AP) do not yet mention the feature. Suspect this has just been omitted from the documents.

Trying to determine how this feature manages a shut down in the G3X, e.g. If you are flying and get the alert to change tanks, you donít get again until you consume the preset value again (in my case each 5.0L consumed).

If say you have consumed 3.0L since the last alert (2.0L until the next alert is triggered) you land, shutdown the engine and G3X, then re-start engine and G3X does the fuel tank reminder re-start at 5.0L each time the G3X is started or does it remember that we have consumed 3.0L and still have another 2.0L before next alert?

I could document/log the fuel consumed each time the alert occurs and test what happens after the next shutdown/re-boot of the G3X, was just looking for some feedback if anyone can confirm how it should handle a power cycle in regards to the fuel tank change reminder?

I wrote to g3xpert@garmin.com with a query, they did reply however think they may confused my query for fuel consumption (Obviously the G3X retains fuel consumed value each time you power cycle it and remains until you reset it manually)

Thanks in advance for anyone feedback on what they have found with the feature.

Regards,

Byron.

Last edited by BoyRacer : 05-09-2022 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2022, 11:12 PM
ColoradoSolar ColoradoSolar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Westcliffe, Colorado
Posts: 185
Default

My guess is that it would reset to 5l as that is what the timer based version does. I have mine set to alert me every 30 minutes and if I landed at 20 minutes it would not alert me 10 minutes into the next flight.
__________________
Eric Vickery

RV-6A Tip-Up Bought Flying
RV-10 #42451 Empennage complete (except fiberglass)
Received Fuselage and wing kits
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2022, 09:10 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,198
Default Fuel Tank Reminder

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoyRacer View Post
Hi Folks,

In firmware revision 8.92 Garmin G3X Touch introduced a great feature to set an alert based on fuel consumption (requires a fuel flow transducer) to give an on screen reminder/alert to Change the selected fuel tank. Prior to this we could set a timer based reminder. Have found the fuel consumption based alert (I use 5.0 Litres) to be VERY handy, my fuel gauges tend to read full for quite some period so a consumption based changeover is much better at keeping the fuel levels between tanks in balance.

I notice the Garmin G3X Pilots Guide (Revision S) and Installers manual (Revision AP) do not yet mention the feature. Suspect this has just been omitted from the documents.

Trying to determine how this feature manages a shut down in the G3X, e.g. If you are flying and get the alert to change tanks, you don’t get again until you consume the preset value again (in my case each 5.0L consumed).

If say you have consumed 3.0L since the last alert (2.0L until the next alert is triggered) you land, shutdown the engine and G3X, then re-start engine and G3X does the fuel tank reminder re-start at 5.0L each time the G3X is started or does it remember that we have consumed 3.0L and still have another 2.0L before next alert?

I could document/log the fuel consumed each time the alert occurs and test what happens after the next shutdown/re-boot of the G3X, was just looking for some feedback if anyone can confirm how it should handle a power cycle in regards to the fuel tank change reminder?

I wrote to g3xpert@garmin.com with a query, they did reply however think they may confused my query for fuel consumption (Obviously the G3X retains fuel consumed value each time you power cycle it and remains until you reset it manually)

Thanks in advance for anyone feedback on what they have found with the feature.

Regards,

Byron.
Good Morning,

The amount of fuel used since the last volume based fuel tank reminder was issued is not carried across power cycles, in any case.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 05-24-2022 at 06:17 PM. Reason: Edited for accuracy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2022, 02:57 AM
BoyRacer BoyRacer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Good Morning,

In the Engine Setup Menu (MENUx2 > Setup > Engine) you can choose to set the Fuel Used counter to automatically reset on power cycle, or only reset when manually commanded to do so. If set to Auto, the tank reminder will reset with a power cycle, as the fuel used is reset. If set to Manual, the tank reminder will remember the fuel used up until the point of shutdown, and will accurately remind you to switch tanks when your programmed threshold is met during the next flight.

Thanks,

Justin
Thanks Justin, appreciate you describing the sequence ut will follow, in annideal world it would retain the amount consumed since tbe last alert to keep the best possible balance between the tanks.

Thanks!

Byron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2022, 06:13 AM
BoyRacer BoyRacer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Byron,

No problem, it does retain this information as long as the Fuel Used Counter is not set to Automatically reset on each power cycle.

Thanks,

Justin
Thanks, just read your first reply properly, excellent, its an ideal solution!

CheersM!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2022, 04:15 PM
chasers03 chasers03 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 24
Default Fuel used

Are use this as a switch tank reminder as my plane uses about 6 gallons per hour and therefore I switch tanks every hour with this reminder. I found mine was set for manual so thatís good however how can I start the meter over again at a fuel top off stop?
For example Iíve used 4 gallons of the six on the meter reminder and when I fill the tanks I want to start back over again On my left tank.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2022, 11:34 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,198
Default Fuel Used Reset

Yes, you will just want to manually reset the fuel used field on in the EIS page after filling up.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2022, 02:55 PM
F1 Rocket F1 Rocket is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melboring, FL
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Yes, you will just want to manually reset the fuel used field on in the EIS page after filling up.

Thanks,

Justin
Hi Justin,
Please, please, please. Add the ability to track fuel usage per tank. No hardware modification is needed to the G3X system. A simple micro switch or Hall sensor can be added to the fuel selector. This can be wired to a discrete input which would tell the system whether the left or right tank is selected. The system could then track the fuel burn on that specific tank in addition to the total fuel burn. This feature would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Danny
F1 Rocket #25
N14ZM "Dreamer"
Melboring, FL
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2022, 06:24 PM
TShort TShort is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN (KUMP)
Posts: 1,081
Default

Do you really switch tanks every 5 liters?
That seems awfully often … even if you are flying a -3.
__________________
Thomas Short
KUMP - Indianapolis, IN / KAEJ - Buena Vista, CO
RV-10 N410TS bought / flying
RV-8 wings / fuse in progress ... still
1948 Cessna 170 N3949V
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2022, 07:39 AM
rvanstory's Avatar
rvanstory rvanstory is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: New Braunfels
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Good Morning,

In the Engine Setup Menu (MENUx2 > Setup > Engine) you can choose to set the Fuel Used counter to automatically reset on power cycle, or only reset when manually commanded to do so. If set to Auto, the tank reminder will reset with a power cycle, as the fuel used is reset. If set to Manual, the tank reminder will remember the fuel used up until the point of shutdown, and will accurately remind you to switch tanks when your programmed threshold is met during the next flight.

Thanks,

Justin
Justin, I was so excited to see this post! I've been flying with the fuel reminder set to gallons for months and hated that it would start over at o gallons before a flight when I did not refill the tanks. So, this week, before flying a cross country trip I followed your instructions to set this to "manual". Well, when I got into the menu>engine section, it was already set to manual. So now I'm confused???? With mine set to manual, the reminder starts over after every shutdown, whether topped off or not. Any thoughts, suggestions on what I may be doing wrong?
__________________
Randy Vanstory
Flying RV10 - N783V
2021 Sun N Fun Reserve Grand Champion
2021 Oshkosh Bronze Lindy

1st Flight 08/20/2020 / Current Hrs - 279
Donation Happily Made 2022
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.